kansas-golf-magazine post-scores
Kansas Golf Associaition

USGA Men's State Team

The USGA State Team Championships were first conducted in 1995 as part of the Association’s centennial celebration and were originally intended 2010 USGA State Team Champions - Charlie Stevens, Bryan Norton, Tyler Sheltonto be one-time only events. The championships, in which each state was represented by non-collegiate, amateur golfers, helped cap the USGA’s year-long festivities.

State and regional golf associations sent three-player male team to compete in a stroke-play format similar to the World Amateur Team Championship, in which the best two scores of each state’s three competitors counted on each of the three days of competition. Due to its initial success, the championship continued on a biennial basis and eventually all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia competed. 

The USGA State Tea
m Championship competitions will be retired following the 2017 season.

Past USGA Men's State Team Sites, Kansas Team & Results

2016 - The Country Club of Birmingham (West Course)
Birmingham, AL
Kansas - T36th
Team: Tim McKinnis, Bradley Lane, Max Lazzo

2014 - French Lick Resort (Dye Course)
French Lick, IN
Kansas - T38th

Team: Bryan Norton, Zac Burton, Doug Albers

2012 - Galloway National Golf Club
Galloway Township, NJ
Kansas - T38th
Team: Kit Grove, Jack Courington, Zac Burton

2010 - Mayacama Golf Club
Santa Rose, CA
Kansas: Champions
Team: Bryan Norton, Charlie Stevens, Tyler Shelton

2009 - The Country Club of St. Albans
St. Louis, MO
Kansas - 2nd
Team: Jon Troutman, Dodge Kemmer, Bryan Norton

2007 - The Club at Carlton Woods (Fazio Course)
The Woodlands, TX
Kansas - T36th
Team: Chad Judd, Conrad Roberts, Derek Harrison

2005 - Berkeley Hall (South Course)
Bluffton, SC
Kansas - 20th
Team: Ty Cline, Tyler Shelton, Cole Nondorf

2003 - Charles River Country Club
Newton Centre, MA
Kansas - 40th
Team: Alan Stearns, Jay Hepler, Casey Harbour

2001 - Hazeltine National Golf Club
Chaska, MN
Kansas - 27th
Team: Len Johnsen, Jr., Travis Engle, Trent Brown

1999 - Golden Horseshoe Golf Club (Gold Course)
Williamsburg, VA
Kansas - T29th
Team: Marty Sallaz, Ron Brewer, Sean Thayer

1997 - SunRidge Canyon Golf Club
Fountain Hills, AZ
Kansas - 43rd
Team: Byron Shultz, Ron Brewer, Len Johnsen, Jr.

1995 - Lake Nona Golf Club
Orlando, FL
Kansas - T16th
Team: Steve Newman, Len Johnsen, Jr., Marty Sallaz