kansas-golf-magazine online-entry post-scores
Kansas Golf Associaition

Kansas Junior Golf Scholarships Awarded for 2013

The Kansas Golf Foundation has awarded Kansas Junior Golf Scholarships to five high school seniors for the 2013-2014 academic year.  This year’s class joins 16 Junior Golf Scholars from past years whose grants are being renewed.

The 2013 Kansas Junior Golf Scholars and the colleges they will be attending next year are:

Marissa Bland, Lucas (Colby CC)

Cody Hearn, Shawnee (KU or KSU)

Ryan Helus, Wamego (KSU)

Abbie Thelen, Meriden (Barton County CC)

Jevin Yoder, Topeka (KSU)

Any Kansas high school student who has participated in organized junior golf may apply for the KJGS, although golf skill is not considered in making the selections.  The scholarship is awarded based on academic performance, community service and leadership, financial need, and the student’s essay about how he or she has benefitted from the game of golf.  Scholars must attend a Kansas college or university.

Since its inception in 2005, the Kansas Golf Foundation has awarded scholarships to 45 junior golfers who have attended 17 different Kansas colleges. “The Kansas Junior Golf Scholarship is unique because it is a need-based academic scholarship awarded exclusively to young men and women who have played junior golf in Kansas” says Phil Miller, Executive Director of the Kansas Golf Foundation. “We know golf teaches important lifeskills that help young people lead successful lives. This scholarship program helps those outstanding junior golfers go to college right here in Kansas.”

The Kansas Golf Foundation, formed in 1991, has as its Mission to “Promote the Future and Preserve the History of Golf in Kansas”.  The Foundation awards need-based college scholarships for junior golfers and operates the Kansas Golf Hall of Fame.  More information about the Foundation is available at www.kansasgolf.org/foundation/.