kansas-golf-magazine post-scores
Kansas Golf Associaition

Kansas Golf Hall of Fame to Induct Two Kansans in Class of 2014

Media Release


Phillip A. Miller, Executive Director
Kansas Golf Foundation
1201 Wakarusa Drive, Suite B5
Lawrence KS 66049
Phone: 785-842-4833 ext. 205
Fax: 785-842-3831
Email:  phil@kansasgolf.org

April 21, 2014


Kansas Golf Hall of Fame to Induct Two Kansans in Class of 2014

Lawrence, KS. – The Kansas Golf Foundation has selected two Kansans for induction into the Kansas Golf Hall of Fame, Class of 2014.  Ross Randall, of Lawrence, and Fred Rowland,  of Leawood, will join 38 men and women previously honored for their accomplishments and Ross Randallcontributions to the game of golf.

Ross Randall  was the University of Kansas men’s golf coach from 1980 to 2007, and doubled as the women’s coach from 1981-1984.  A three-time Big 8/Big 12 Coach of the Year, Randall coached five All American and 27 all conference players. The Jayhawks won the Big 12 Conference Championship in 1999, and Randall was named Captain of the United States Palmer Cup in 2000. His teams have included players who collectively won 15 Kansas Amateur titles and two who became PGA Tour winners. Randall will enter the Hall of Fame in the category of Coach.

Fred Rowland enters the Hall of Fame in the Amateur Player Fred Rowlandcategory based on his distinguished playing career. Rowland is something of local legend, having won nine Kansas Golf Association Championships and seven Kansas City Golf Association titles.  He competed nationally over his career, also, qualifying 11 times for USGA individual championships from the U.S. Junior to the U.S. Senior Amateur where, in 1996, he reached the semi-finals. Rowland
enjoyed international success, as well:  he won the 2003 Canadian Senior Amateur,  played in the 1988 British Amateur, and qualified three times for the Senior British Amateur, finishing T-3 in 1997. He reached #2 in the Golf Digest Senior Amateur rankings in 2003.

Rowland will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 21 at the Champions Dinner preceding the Kansas Amateur at Mission Hills Country Club. Randall's induction will be October 5 in Lawrence. Tickets for the Rowland induction will be limited and can be purchased online by clicking here, or may be obtained from Kansas Golf Foundation Executive Director Phil Miller (785-842-4833 ext. 205, email:  foundation@kansasgolf.org.)

The Kansas Golf Foundation, formed in 1991, has as its Mission to “Promote the Future and Preserve the History of Golf in Kansas”.  In addition to operating the Hall of Fame, the Foundation provides college scholarships for junior golfers and supports Golf In Schools to introduce golf to students in Kansas schools. More information about the Foundation is available at www.kansasgolf.org.