kansas-golf-magazine post-scores
Kansas Golf Associaition

Gary Lucas wins his first Senior Title at KGA Senior Series Championship

Cup Teams Named for October Matches against Missouri


“Senior Rookie” Gary Lucas of Topeka made the most of his first time through the KGA Senior Series program by winning the season-ending 36-hole championship at Manhattan Country Club in late September.  Despite this win Lucas will not lead a Kansas senior team of 12 players against a team from Missouri in the annual Ozark Senior Challenge to be played in late October at the Country Club of Missouri in Columbia.  The date of the competition conflicts with a prior commitment for Lucas.

Lucas led wire-to-wire by posting a one-over par 71 in the opening round with consistent play wrapped around two bogeys and one birdie.  He maintained his one-stroke lead over Bob Bezek of Ottawa and Randy Vautravers of Andover throughout the second round.  Under difficult conditions the three leaders all shot three-over par 74 giving Lucas the victory.

The Super Senior title went to Doug Kaup of Phillipsburg on the strength of his closing round one-under par 70.  His four-over par 146 was one better than Ray Wyatt of Abilene.

Over 200 Kanas senior golfers participated in the season-long series of one round events from May through early September.   The top 15 golfers, both gross and net, from four age divisions qualify for the KGA Senior Series Championship.   It is from this 36-hole event that the Kansas teams are identified for the annual matches against Missouri.

The Ozark Senior Challenge trophy currently resides in Kansas and the following Kansas team members will travel to Columbia, October 17-18, to attempt to retain possession of the bragging-rights trophy:  Vautravers and Bezek along with Mike Casamento (Wichita), Calvin Clough (Wichita), RJ Opliger (Lenexa), Brad Woley (Wichita), Tracy Chamberlin (Wichita) and Tim Tyner (Council Grove).  The net team members are Mark Kays (Independence), Sam Walker (Salina), Jerry Kruger (Topeka) and Matt Rose (Shawnee).

The Super Seniors play for the Association Senior Cup trophy and the Kansas team will be Kaup and Wyatt along with Ron Brewer (Leawood) and Michael Carey (Shawnee Mission).  The net players are Tom Vilkanskas (Manhattan) and Jay Warren (Garden City).