kansas-golf-magazine post-scores
Kansas Golf Associaition

Competition Winners for June!

Desilet, Morris, Dupy Victorious at Wichita CC


Denise Desilet of Wichita continued her consecutive victory streak after a 3-hole playoff with Susan DeVoe of Overland Park at Wichita CC.  Down two at the start of round two, Desilet was not ready to let the trophy go and held on to claim her seventh consecutive Kansas Women’s Senior Championship and her eleventh championship title.  Opening with an even par 36 on the front to DeVoe’s 40, Desilet opened a two-shot lead.  DeVoe responded with a 36 on the back nine to force the playoff.  Both players made pars on the first two playoff holes before Desilet finally edged out the victory with a par on number three.

There was spectacular play in every division of the championship.  Megan Dupy of Salina had a hard-fought battle with Jordan Patterson of Hays to claim the first-ever Mid-Amateur Championship.  The Mid-Am Division had particularly strong play with four players carding sub-80 rounds on a very difficult WCC golf course.

Judy Morris of Derby had the come-back round of the day to win the Super Senior Gross title by two shots over first round leader Phyllis Fast.  Morris opened the day with a 38 on the front nine in spite of two double bogeys.  Birdies on 2, 4 and 8 closed the gap, and steady play on the back nine sealed the championship title.

Alex Moorman Wins 2018 Railer Championship
Don Kuehn Cruises in Senior Division

Photo Gallery -- Results

Centerville, Iowa's Alex Moorman captured the 2018 Railer, Kansas Stroke Play Championship on Sunday at Newton's Sand Creek Station Golf Course.  Moorman, a member of the University of Iowa golf team, finished at 10-under par 206 to finish one shot ahead of Mooreland, Oklahoma resident and University of Central Oklahoma golfer Blake Murray.  Washburn University golfers Blake Allen and Andrew Beckler tied for third place.  Bel Aire's Luke Gannon, a golfer at Southern Illinois University, finished in fifth.

In the Senior Division, KGA veteran Don Kuehn of Kansas City cruised  to a 14-shot victory!  Kuehn finished at 10-under par 206 for the 54-hole championship.  Andover's Bob Hartmann and Wichita's Steve Newman finished tied for second at 4-over par 220 total.  Thank you to the full field of players and to the patrons and staff at Sand Creek Station Golf Course for another great championship event!

Team Kansas Takes Second at Girls' Four State


Team Kansas took second place at the 50th Junior Girls' Four State Championship at Coldwater Golf Links in Ames, Iowa.  The Kansas squad posted a 316 team total in round two to go along with a round one total of 308 for a two round total of 624 to finish four strokes behind Team Missouri.

Team Kansas is represented by Abby Glynn (Topeka), Allison Comer (Overland Park), Megan Lucas (Topeka), Molly Saporito (Overland Park) and Ellie Cobb (Salina).  Team captains will be Jaci Weber (Derby) and Becky Pickett (Murdock). The Junior Four State Championship is an invitational event with teams from Kansas, Iowa, Missouri and Nebraska.  The two day stroke play event began in 1968 and rotates among the participating states.  Each state fields a 5-person team and the best four scores each day count towards the team score.

108th Kansas Amateur Begins Next Week

Groupings & Starting Times

Following completion of the five qualifying sites and the 2nd Chance Qualifier, the field of players is set for the 108th Kansas Amateur Match Play Championship to be played at Firekeeper Golf Course in Mayetta, KS on July 16-22.  All 150 championship contestants will play 36-holes of stroke play qualifying on July 17-18. After these 36 holes, the low 64 scores will be determined for a single elimination match play bracket.

A practice round is included on July 16.  Carts are included in the entry fee for all rounds of the championship except for the practice round.  Players can schedule practice rounds by contacting the KGA office (see player information memo link above).  Groupings and starting times for the stroke play qualifying rounds are now available