kansas-golf-magazine post-scores
Kansas Golf Associaition

Bill Conrey Named Recipient of 2019 Virgil Parker Award

Bill Conrey, of McPherson, KS, a past president of the Kansas Golf Association who has volunteered as a KGA Rules official for more than 25 years, has been chosen by the KGA as a 2019 recipient of the Virgil Parker Award.

Conrey has served on the Kansas Golf Association Board of Directors representing Salina Country Club since 2005 and was the Kansas Golf Association president in 2007.

Conrey, a native of Monett, MO, also served on the USGA Public Links Championship committee from 2010 to 2014 and on the USGA Mid-Amateur Championship committee from 2015 to present.

Created in 1997, the Virgil Parker Award is given at the discretion of the KGA’s Executive Committee to those individuals that have made an impact on golf and golfers in Kansas through significant volunteer efforts.  The award is named after a man that was a volunteer leader of the KGA even during a successful amateur golfer career in the Wichita area.  Virgil Parker was an expert of the Rules of Golf, a president of the KGA, and a member of the Kansas Golf Hall of Fame.

“Bill’s selfless commitment to golf and promoting the amateur game in Kansas are the embodiment of what the Virgil Parker Award stands for,” said Casey Old, KGA Interim Executive Director.  “We are proud to recognize his countless days of service and giving back to the game that we all love.”

Click here for a full list of Virgil Parker Award winners.