kansas-golf-magazine online-entry post-scores
Kansas Golf Associaition

Class of 2006

Amateur & Professional Player

has had many outstanding women golfers but most of them were amateurs and only two of the more prominent ones turned professional.  They are Marilynn Smith, a co-founder of the Deb RichardLPGA and Kansas Golf Hall of Fame member, and Deb Richard, Kansas Golf Hall of Fame, Class of 2006.

Raised in Manhattan, Richard learned the game from Ron Schmedemann, Golf Professional at Manhattan Country Club.  From 1979 to 1984, Deb was arguably the best woman golfer in Kansas.  Her amateur accomplishments include:  Kansas Junior Girls Champion (1979); Kansas State High School Champion (1979, 1980, 1981); Kansas Women’s Amateur Champion (1982, 1983); United States Women’s Amateur Champion (1984).

Richard is one of only three women golfers from Kansas to have won a USGA national championship. With her 1984 victory, she followed in the steps of Miriam Burns Horn (1927) and 1992 Kansas Golf Hall of Fame member Jean Ashley (1965).  The same year she won the Women’s Amateur title, she was also the low individual in the World Cup Championships in Hong Kong.

Deb’s success continued in college and on the LPGA Tour.  At the University of Florida she won seven tournaments, including three consecutive SEC Championships and was an All-American from 1983-1985.  She was runner-up in the NCAA Championship in 1985 and that year also received the Broderick Award, given to the nation’s top female collegiate golfer.  When Deb joined the LPGA Tour in 1986, she quickly became a million-dollar winner, eventually winning five times and finishing in the top ten in dozens of other events.  She retired from the Tour in 2005. Deb is currently president of the Soaring with Eagles Foundation in Ponte Vedra Beach, FL and was a recipiant of the 2010 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award. return to Hall of Fame

Golf Course Architect

Floyd Farley is the first person to enter the Kansas Golf Hall of Fame in the category of Golf Course Architect.  A Past President and Fellow of the American Society of Golf Course Architects, Floyd FarleyFarley was Kansas’ best known and most prolific golf course architect.  He passed away in 2005 at the age of 98 having left an indelible mark on the game of golf in Kansas.

Farley designed or remodeled more than 100 golf courses in Kansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Nebraska and New Mexico, far more than any other architect in the area. He studied under two Kansas legends, Harry Robb and James Daigleish, who were the foremost pioneers of golf architecture in the state.

He was also an accomplished golfer:  Floyd was a teammate of Kansas Hall of Famer Jug McSpaden on the Rosedale High School team of 1925 that was renowned as one of the great high school teams of all time. Farley also played the pro circuit but by 1947 was devoting all his time to golf course architecture.

According to Architects of Golf by Topekan Ron Whitten and architect Geoffrey Cornish of Massachusetts, Farley designed or redesigned 15 Kansas courses: Milburn Country Club,  Rolling Hills Country Club, Clay Center Country Club, Hidden Lakes Golf Course, Lake Forest Golf Course, Leroy Ring Private Course (Newton), McConnell Air Force Base Course (now Twin Lakes), Overland Park Municipal Golf Course, Salina Municipal, Crestwood Country Club, Four Oaks Golf Course, Indian Hills Country Club, Kansas City Country Club, Lake Quivira Country Club, and Mission Hills Country Club.

Mr. Farley passed away at the age of 98 in October 2005. return to Hall of Fame